Caveman's Blog

My commitment to learning.

VS2010: ASP.Net development server performance

leave a comment »


For sometime now, the ASP.NET development server (VS 2010 + Windows 7) on my development laptop has slowed down so much that it takes about 5 minutes for the initial page to load. The CPU Usage and RAM consumption did not look anything out of the ordinary. I tried many things to speed up the process and here are some of them:

1. Turned off Intellisense,

2. Minimized active background services.

3. Disk defragmentation

4. Run VS2010 as in administrator mode.

5. Deleted unused software.

6. Turned off anti-virus software (not a good idea, I know)

7. and a few more not so appealing ones

8. Changed localhost to 127.0.0.1

None of them worked and the only thing that saved me from the brink of going insane was, me getting an upgraded laptop with more of every thing (8GB Ram, I-5 CPU M 520 @ 2.4 Ghz, 2 Cores, 4 Logical Processors). Things started to look nice and bright after the upgrade. My builds are faster, debugging is fun and me thinks this will help me be more productive.

I wonder if the minimum system requirements as mentioned by MS for VS 2010 are not quite adequate. Go get your self a fast one if possible…

Update: 9/21/2011

I was hit with slowness on VS2010 caused by Team Foundation Server (TFS) on another project on a laptop that is as fast the one described above. The difference in environment from the above was that we use TFS for source control.

Problem: TFS was extremely slow when I remote to work form home and it was fine when I was using the company network.

Solution: A colleague at work actually helped me identify this fix that is the actual fix to the slowness of VS2010 (win7 + TFS). Refer to Slow connection when connecting to Team Foundation Server from Visual Studio 2010 to get rid of the slowness.

Written by cavemansblog

March 29, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Leave a Reply

